Schloss Solitude stands high on a hill to the west of Stuttgart, offering a magnificent view to the north towards Ludwigsburg. It was commissioned by Duke Carl Eugen von Württemberg and its construction from 1764 to 1775 was overseen by court architect Philippe de la Guêpière. It’s a beautiful complex with a large park surrounding it.
The main building of the palace, the charming central pavilion of the complex, contains ornate state rooms decorated in the style of the late Rococo and early Classicism. It has been well preserved and is well worth paying for the guided tour (information cards are available in a variety of languages, although most tours are in German and only a few are in English).
The Duke and his entourage inhabited the southern outbuildings. Since 1990, the Akademie Schloss Solitude has been accommodated in several of the outbuildings. Its aim is to promote young artists. In another outbuilding is the Museum Fritz von Graevenitz with works by this renowned Stuttgart sculptor.
Fancy a nice long walk? From 1764 to 1768, Duke Carl Eugen had the Solitudeallee built as a connecting route to the Residential Palace Ludwigsburg. This packed dirt road is more than 10 km (6 miles) long and preserved well enough that you can walk nearly the entire way.